ABA METHOD OR LOVAAS METHOD

General overview

ABA (Applied Behaviour Analysis), also known as the Lovaas method, is an early intervention program for the support of children with ASD (autism spectrum disorder). It aims in particular to modify the child's behaviour in order to enable him or her to acquire greater autonomy. 

 

Of American origin, applied behavioural analysis (ABA) is one of the recommendations of the High Authority of Health (HAS) for the support of autistic children, as are the Denver and TEACCH methods. 

Source: compilation of  YouTube videos ( fair use ) - if you want to remove content contact us at contact@leneurogroupe.org

Main objectives of the method

It is therefore a question of facilitating the learning of new behaviours 

  • Motor skills and attention

  • Language, and even reading and writing.

  • Games and activities

​Limiting some unwanted self-harm and anger behaviours

Specificities of the method

The method is based primarily on a detailed observation of the ASD child's behaviour by a psychologist, who identifies behaviours that are considered harmful. 

 

The therapist then defines the framework that parents and educators must provide to the child in an intensive way, to help him/her progress in speaking, playing and interacting with others.

More concretely, we will teach the child small simple gestures, which together can compose the desired behaviours. The teaching is less structured, i.e. less based on repetition, habits and a common time frame than the TEACCH method.

 

The method must be carried out intensively. It requires 20 to 30 hours of involvement per week and this for several years (at least 2 or 3 years). It is therefore necessary for the child to be accompanied by different people on a daily basis.

 

Positive reinforcement is one of the specific features of the method 

"Positive reinforcement is the presentation of a reinforcing agent immediately after the emission of a behaviour. It is the presentation of this reinforcing agent that will increase the frequency of the behaviour's appearance." (see detailed article here)

The method assumes that ASD children do not have a "natural" motivation similar to other children (could be related to a difference in the secretion of neurotransmitters such as dopamine) and that positive reinforcements must therefore be added if we want to help the child move in a certain direction.

Who is this method for ?

ABA is part of the early intervention programs for children with autism. The method works most effectively if the child is cared for as early as possible.

What parents say about it

Its high cost: the ABA method is not reimbursed. Psychologist consultations and training hours are entirely at the parents' expense (see https://www.doctissimo.fr/html/dossiers/autisme/9748-autisme-enfants-prise-charge-itw.htm)

 

The ABA method requires an intensive investment from parents, who are often forced to reduce their working time to devote themselves to the child's training.

To know more about the topic

The Norwegian psychologist and initiator of the ABA method Ivar Lovaas found a very promising result in his first experiment: 47% of the children in the study who were initially autistic would have reached a normal level of intellectual development and would be able to enter mainstream primary schools. However, more recent studies challenge this figure and show that the rate of integration into the mainstream school system is lower than 47%: https://www.cairn.info/revue-contraste-2011-1-page-297.htm

 

"Studies converge to consider that the efficiency of ABA focuses primarily on cognition, language and the reduction of problem behaviours. Inclusive education is a more difficult result to produce: the children who succeed in it are only a small part of them," say Jean-Claude Maleval, Michel Grollier in their article http://www.autistes-et-cliniciens.org/Actualite-de-l-evaluation-de-la-prise-en-charge-des-enfants-autistes

Any remarks or comments ?

This work is based on a collaborative approach to sharing research and family experience.

If you have any comments, suggestions for modifications or corrections or clarifications to make, please let us know by email at contact@leneurogroupe.org

MÉTHODE ABA OU MÉTHODE LOVAAS

Présentation générale

Le traitement ABA (Applied Behaviour Analysis, ou analyse comportementale appliquée), aussi appellé méthode Lovaas est un programme d’intervention précoce pour l’accompagnement des enfants TSA (trouble du spectre autistique). Il vise notamment la modification du comportement de l’enfant afin de lui permettre d’acquérir une autonomie plus large. 

 

D’origine américaine l’analyse comportementale appliquée (ABA) fait partie des recommandations de la Haute Autorité de Santé (HAS) pour l’accompagnement des enfants autistes, au même titre que les méthodes Denver et TEACCH. 

Source : compilation de vidéos YouTube (utilisation équitable) - si vous souhaitez supprimer un contenu contactez nous à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Principaux objectifs de la méthode

Il s’agit donc de faciliter l’apprentissage de nouveaux comportements 

  • Les capacités motrices et l’attention

  • Le langage, et même la lecture et l'écriture.

  • Les jeux et activités

La limitation de certains comportements non souhaités d'automutilation et de colère

Spécificités de la méthode

La méthode est basée avant tout sur une observation détaillée du comportement de l’enfant TSA par un psychologue, qui identifie les comportements jugés comme néfastes. 

 

Le psy définit alors le cadre que parents et éducateurs doivent fournir à l'enfant de manière intensive, pour l'aider à progresser dans la parole, le jeu, le contact avec les autres.

Plus concrètement, on va apprendre à l'enfant des petits gestes simples, qui réunis peuvent composer les comportements souhaités. L’enseignement est moins structuré, i.e. moins basé sur la répétition, les habitudes et un même cadre temporel que la méthode TEACCH

 

La méthode doit être menée de façon intensive. Elle nécessite 20 à 30 heures d’implication par semaine et cela pendant plusieurs années (au minimum 2 ou 3 ans). Il faut donc que l’enfant soit accompagné par différentes personnes au quotidien.

 

Le renforcement positif est une des spécificités de la méthode 

“Le renforcement positif, c’est la présentation d’un agent renforçateur immédiatement après l’émission d’un comportement. C’est le fait de présenter cet agent renforçateur qui va augmenter la fréquence d’apparition du comportement.” (voir article détaillé ici)

La méthode part du principe que les enfants TSA n’ont pas une motivation “naturelle” similaire aux autres enfants (pourrait être liée à une différence de sécrétion de neuro-transmetteurs tels que la dopamine) et qu’il faut donc ajouter des renforcements positifs si on veut aider l’enfant à évoluer dans une certaine direction.

A qui s’adresse la méthode ?

ABA fait partie des programmes d’intervention précoce pour les enfants avec autisme. La méthode fonctionne le plus efficacement si l’enfant est pris en charge le plus tôt possible.

Ce qu’en disent les parents

Son coût élevé : la méthode ABA n'est pas remboursée. Les consultations de psychologue et les heures de formations sont entièrement à la charge des parents (lire à ce propos https://www.doctissimo.fr/html/dossiers/autisme/9748-autisme-enfants-prise-charge-itw.htm)

 

La méthode ABA demande un investissement intensif de la part des parents, qui sont souvent obligé de diminuer leur temps de travail pour se consacrer à la formation de l'enfant.

En savoir plus

Le psychologue norvégien et initiateur de la méthode ABA Ivar Lovaas a trouvé un résultat très prometteur lors de sa première expérimentation: 47% des enfants de l'étude qui étaient autistes au départ auraient atteint un niveau de développement intellectuel normal et seraient en mesure d’intégrer des écoles primaires ordinaires. Pourtant, des études plus récentes contestent ce chiffre et montrent que le taux d’insertion au système scolaire normal est plus bas que 47% :https://www.cairn.info/revue-contraste-2011-1-page-297.htm.

 

“Les études convergent pour considérer que l’efficience de l’ABA porte essentiellement sur la cognition, le langage et la diminution des comportements problèmes. L’inclusion scolaire est un résultat plus difficile à produire : les enfants qui y parviennent ne constituent qu’une petite partie de ces derniers.” disent Jean-Claude Maleval , Michel Grollier dans leur article http://www.autistes-et-cliniciens.org/Actualite-de-l-evaluation-de-la-prise-en-charge-des-enfants-autistes

Des remarques ou commentaires ?

Ce travail repose sur une approche collaborative de mise en commun de recherches et de l'expérience des familles.

Si vous avez des remarques, des suggestions de modifications ou corrections ou des précisions à apporter merci de nous en faire part par email à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Contactez-nous

Le Neuro Groupe

6 bd du Général Leclerc

92110 Clichy

Ecole Walt

2 rue Dranem

75011 Paris

Pour être tenu au courant par email