ELECTRICAL STIMULATION IMPLANTS

General overview

This method is at the research stage: the electrodes are implanted and stimulate damaged but still functional nerves of the spinal cord, as well as neurons normally unrelated to motor control, allowing paralyzed patients to walk again.

Source: compilation of  YouTube videos ( fair use ) - if you want to remove content contact us at contact@leneurogroupe.org

Main objectives of the method

This method is in the research stage: the electrodes are implanted and stimulate damaged but still functional nerves in the spinal cord, as well as neurons normally unrelated to motor control, allowing paralyzed patients to walk again.

Specificities of the method

Electrodes are surgically implanted under the membrane that protects the spinal cord in their lumbar vertebrae.  Once connected to a stimulator, the electrodes send electrical impulses to the part of the spinal cord that controls the leg muscles, and the legs, which until then had been immobile, began to move.
After weeks of training, by turning off the stimulator, patients got up and walked again on their own (less well and for a shorter time than with the stimulator, but they actually regained the use of their legs). 

Who is this method for ?

Partial paralysis of the legs. Initially: for rehabilitation after a serious injury (accident). 

What parents say about it

Method still in development, only at the study stage
"I hope to see this therapy available in some hospitals in three or four years' time" - Grégoire Courtine, Professor at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (Switzerland)

unnamed (2).jpg
image1.jpg
Scientific references

"Within a week, this space-time stimulation restored adaptive control of the paralyzed muscles while walking on the ground. The locomotor performance improved during the rehabilitation. After a few months, participants regained voluntary control of paralyzed muscles without stimulation and were able to walk or cycle in an ecological setting during the space-time stimulation. These results establish a technological framework to improve neurological recovery and support daily living activities after spinal cord injury. »


Source: Targeted neurotechnology restores walking in humans with spinal cord injury, Grégoire Courtine
https://www.nature.com/articles/s41586-018-0649-2


"Two of the four participants (participants 3 and 4, both AIS category B participants) were able to walk on the floor with assistive devices after intensive physical training with electrical stimulation of the lower spinal cord. The other two participants (participants 1 and 2, both AIS A category participants) successfully completed some independent walking components on the treadmill with body weight support, but without walking above the ground. The four participants were unable to perform these actions in the tests when the stimulator was off. »


Source: Recovery of Over-Ground Walking after Chronic Motor Complete Spinal Cord Injury
https://www.nejm.org/doi/10.1056/NEJMoa1803588

 

"In my opinion, the progress so far has been more scientific than therapeutic. These patients do walk, but with the help of a walker or crutches and, on a daily basis, they still use a wheelchair. But the fact that they manage to walk even when the stimulator is off means that there is a neural plasticity whose importance we didn't suspect and that is an extraordinary discovery".


"These were young, athletic patients with only a partial lesion. It will therefore have to be confirmed that this works for all patients. However, if proprioceptive information is necessary to achieve this effect, it may be complicated in patients who have no sensation in their legs. »


Source: Geneviève Rougon, Scientific Director of the Institute for Spinal Cord and Brain Research.
https://siecledigital.fr/2018/09/28/un-homme-paralyse-remarche-grace-a-implant-de-stimulation-electrique/

Any remarks or comments ?

This work is based on a collaborative approach to sharing research and family experience.

If you have any comments, suggestions for modifications or corrections or clarifications to make, please let us know by email at contact@leneurogroupe.org

IMPLANTS DE STIMULATION ÉLECTRIQUE

Présentation générale

Cette méthode est au stade recherche : les électrodes sont implantés et stimulent des nerfs abîmés mais encore fonctionnels de la moelle épinière, ainsi que des neurones normalement sans lien avec la commande motrice, permettant à des patients paralysés de remarcher.

Source : compilation de vidéos YouTube (utilisation équitable) - si vous souhaitez supprimer un contenu contactez nous à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Principaux objectifs de la méthode

Quand la paralysie n'est pas totale, il subsiste quelques nerfs dans lesquels l'information continue de circuler. En stimulant la moelle épinière exactement comme le fait le cerveau, on amplifie l'information résiduelle en provenance de ce dernier, et c'est la concomitance et la similitude des informations venant du cerveau et des électrodes qui, ensemble, activent la marche.
Des connexions entre le cerveau et les jambes sont renforcées ou créées au bout de quelques semaines, et les patients ont pu, dans le cadre de ces protocoles de recherche, remarcher seul (quelques pas, sans stimulation électrique). 

Spécificités de la méthode

Des électrodes sont implantées chirurgicalement sous la membrane qui protège la moelle épinière au niveau de leurs vertèbres lombaires.  Une fois reliées à un stimulateur, les électrodes envoient des impulsions électriques à la partie de la moelle épinière qui commande les muscles des jambes, et celles-ci, jusqu'alors immobiles, se mettent à bouger.
Après des semaines d’entraînement, en éteignant le stimulateur, des patients se sont levés et ont remarché tout seuls (moins bien et moins longtemps qu'avec le stimulateur, mais ils ont réellement recouvré l'usage de leurs jambes). 

A qui s’adresse la méthode ?

Paralysie des membres inférieurs après un accident ayant affécté la moëlle épinière

Ce qu’en disent les parents

Méthode encore en développement, seulement au stade de l’étude
"J'ai l'espoir de voir cette thérapie disponible dans certains hôpitaux d'ici trois ou quatre ans" -  Grégoire Courtine,  Professeur à l'École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (Suisse)

Références scientifiques

« En une semaine, cette stimulation spatio-temporelle avait rétabli le contrôle adaptatif des muscles paralysés pendant la marche au sol. La performance locomotrice s'est améliorée pendant la rééducation. Après quelques mois, les participants ont repris le contrôle volontaire des muscles paralysés sans stimulation et ont pu marcher ou faire du vélo dans un cadre écologique pendant la stimulation spatio-temporelle. Ces résultats établissent un cadre technologique pour améliorer la récupération neurologique et soutenir les activités de la vie quotidienne après une lésion médullaire. »


Source: Targeted neurotechnology restores walking in humans with spinal cord injury, Grégoire Courtine
https://www.nature.com/articles/s41586-018-0649-2


« Deux des quatre participants (participants 3 et 4, tous deux de catégorie B de l'AIS) ont pu marcher sur le sol avec des appareils fonctionnels après un entraînement physique intensif avec stimulation électrique de la moelle épinière inférieure. Les deux autres participants (participants 1 et 2, tous deux de catégorie AIS A) ont réussi certaines composantes de marche indépendante sur le tapis roulant avec un soutien du poids corporel, mais sans marcher au-dessus du sol. Les quatre participants n'ont pas pu faire ces actions dans les essais lorsque le stimulateur était éteint. »


Source : Recovery of Over-Ground Walking after Chronic Motor Complete Spinal Cord Injury
https://www.nejm.org/doi/10.1056/NEJMoa1803588

« À mon avis, l'avancée est pour l'instant plus scientifique que thérapeutique. Certes, ces patients marchent, mais à l'aide d'un déambulateur ou de béquilles et, au quotidien, ils se déplacent encore en fauteuil roulant. Mais le fait qu'ils parviennent à marcher même quand le stimulateur est éteint signifie qu'il existe une plasticité neuronale dont on ne soupçonnait pas l'importance et ça, c'est une découverte extraordinaire »


« Il s'agissait de patients jeunes, sportifs, dont la lésion n'était qu'assez partielle. Il faudra donc confirmer que cela fonctionne pour tous les patients. Or, si les informations proprioceptives s'avèrent nécessaires pour obtenir cet effet, cela risque d'être compliqué chez des patients qui n'ont aucune sensation dans leurs jambes. »


Source : Geneviève Rougon, directrice scientifique de l'Institut pour la recherche sur la moelle épinière et l'encéphale.
https://siecledigital.fr/2018/09/28/un-homme-paralyse-remarche-grace-a-implant-de-stimulation-electrique/

Des remarques ou commentaires ?

Ce travail repose sur une approche collaborative de mise en commun de recherches et de l'expérience des familles.

Si vous avez des remarques, des suggestions de modifications ou corrections ou des précisions à apporter merci de nous en faire part par email à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Contactez-nous

Le Neuro Groupe

6 bd du Général Leclerc

92110 Clichy

Pour être tenu au courant par email