STIMULATION OF COGNITIVE FUNCTIONS:
ARROWSMITH

General overview

Arrowsmith is a cognitive exercise program for students and adults with specific learning disabilities. 

 

Barbara Arrowsmith-Young tells her story and how she developed this method for herself in an autobiographical book "The Woman Who Changed Her Brain". In it, she describes her own learning disabilities and the strategies she has developed to overcome them. In view of the progress she has been able to make on herself, she has developed a method and then schools with her program.

 

Barbara Arrowsmith-Young developed exercises targeting each of the 19 cognitive dysfunctions she had identified. After developing the Arrowsmith program, she opened Toronto's Arrowsmith School in 1980 and began to achieve very good and stable results.

Main objectives of the method
  • Improvement of visual and auditory memory, attention and concentration

  • Improvement of the ability to form concepts for both visual-spatial and linguistic material

  • Improvement of fine motor skills necessary for writing and note-taking

  • Strengthening working memory, information processing speed and cognitive efficiency

  • Improvement of verbal and non-verbal thinking, reasoning and problem solving.

Specificities of the method

The program begins with a detailed assessment of the 19 learning dysfunctions.

The evaluation results in a programme of specialised exercises and computerised programmes with clearly defined and individualised objectives.

The program takes place in a positive, supportive and structured learning environment to develop self-esteem while developing skills, but it is very demanding, requiring a high level of perseverance from students.

 

The method is not yet available in France, except partially for some exercises offered remotely on the Internet. Outside the English-speaking countries, it is available in Spain, Switzerland and Quebec (see https://arrowsmithschool.org/participating-sites/#)

 

The majority of students follow the program from grade 4 to grade 7 and, ideally, return to regular classes in grade 8. During these four years, students spend half of the day on Arrowsmith exercises and the rest on their year's curriculum.

Who is this method for ?

The program usually helps students with average or above-average intelligence, but who have a variety of learning disabilities, including problems with reading, writing, mathematics, memorization, comprehension, dyslexia, non-verbal thinking, as well as problems related to attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, such as difficulty thinking and speaking at the same time; difficulty retaining verbal information or instructions, etc.

 

This approach is not intended for children with behavioural disorders, head injury or autism spectrum disorders.

What parents say about it

Parents and teachers seem enthusiastic, but scientists criticize too much popularization/simplification of complex neurological principles.

Scientific references

Few scientific references appear on this method.

Any remarks or comments ?

This work is based on a collaborative approach to sharing research and family experience.

If you have any comments, suggestions for modifications or corrections or clarifications to make, please let us know by email at contact@leneurogroupe.org

STIMULATION DES FONCTIONS COGNITIVES:

ARROWSMITH

Présentation générale

Arrowsmith est un programme d’exercices cognitifs destiné aux élèves et adultes souffrant de troubles spécifiques d’apprentissage. 

 

Barbara Arrowsmith-Young raconte son histoire et comment elle a développé cette méthode pour elle-même dans un livre autobiographique “The Woman Who Changed Her Brain” (la femme qui a changé son cerveau). Elle y décrit ses propres troubles d'apprentissage et les stratégies qu'elle a développée pour les surmonter. Au vu des progrès qu’elle a pu réaliser sur elle-même, elle a développé une méthode puis des écoles avec son programme.

 

Barbara Arrowsmith-Young a développé des exercices ciblant chacun des 19 dysfonctionnements cognitifs qu’elle avait cernés. Après avoir élaboré le programme Arrowsmith, elle a ouvert, en 1980, l’école Arrowsmith de Toronto et a commencé à obtenir de très bons résultats stables.

Principaux objectifs de la méthode
  • Amélioration de la mémoire visuelle et auditive, ainsi que de l’attention et de la concentration

  • Amélioration de la faculté à former des concepts, à la fois pour le matériel visuel-spatial et pour le matériel linguistique

  • Amélioration de la motricité fine nécessaire à l’écriture et à la prise de notes

  • Renforcement de la mémoire de travail, de la vitesse de traitement de l’information et de l’efficacité cognitive

  • Amélioration de la pensée verbale et non verbale, du raisonnement et de la résolution de problèmes.

Spécificités de la méthode

Le programme commence par une évaluation détaillée des 19 dysfonctionnements d'apprentissage.

L’évaluation donne lieu à un programme d’exercices spécialisés et des programmes informatisés avec des objectifs clairement définis et individualisés.

Le programme se déroule dans un environnement d'apprentissage positif, solidaire et structuré afin de développer l'estime de soi tout en développant les compétences, mais il est très exigeant, il demande aux élèves une très grande persévérance.

 

La méthode n’est pas encore disponible en France, si ce n’est partiellement pour certains exercices proposés à distance sur internet. En dehors des pays anglophones, elle est disponible en Espagne, en Suisse et au Québec (cf. https://arrowsmithschool.org/participating-sites/# )

 

La majorité des élèves suivent le programme de la 4e année à la 7e année de leur scolarité et, idéalement, réintègrent les classes régulières en 8e année. Durant ces quatre années, les élèves consacrent la moitié de la journée à des exercices Arrowsmith et le reste au curriculum de leur année.

A qui s’adresse la méthode ?

Le programme aide habituellement les élèves qui ont une intelligence moyenne ou supérieure à la moyenne, mais qui éprouvent divers troubles d’apprentissage, dont des problèmes de lecture, d’écriture, de mathématiques, de mémorisation, de compréhension, de dyslexie, de pensée non verbale, de même que des problèmes reliés à l’hyperactivité avec déficit de l’attention, comme la difficulté à penser et à parler en même temps ; à retenir des informations ou des consignes verbales, etc

 

Cette approche n’est pas destinée aux enfants ayant des troubles du comportement, un traumatisme crânien ou des troubles du spectre autistique.

Ce qu’en disent les parents

Parents et enseignants semblent enthousiastes, mais les scientifiques critiquent une trop grande vulgarisation/simplification de principes neurologiques complexes.

Références scientifiques

Peu de références scientifiques apparaissent sur cette méthode.

Des remarques ou commentaires ?

Ce travail repose sur une approche collaborative de mise en commun de recherches et de l'expérience des familles.

Si vous avez des remarques, des suggestions de modifications ou corrections ou des précisions à apporter merci de nous en faire part par email à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Contactez-nous

Le Neuro Groupe

6 bd du Général Leclerc

92110 Clichy

Ecole Walt

2 rue Dranem

75011 Paris

Pour être tenu au courant par email