Functional Medicine

General overview

Functional medicine is a systemic approach to the individual that focuses on identifying the origin of the disorder and fighting the root cause of the disease.

It is based on the evolution of research in nutritional, genomic and epigenetic science.

Main objectives of the method
  • The aim of functional medicine is to restore a balance at the biochemical level. 

  • It starts from an evaluation of biochemical disorders, inflammations, intoxications, mitochondrial insufficiency, insufficient protein synthesis, etc., which can be carried out on the basis of laboratory tests and/or very detailed medical questionnaires.

  • It then proposes dietary adaptations, lifestyle changes, various types of nutritional supplements to make up for deficiencies and fight against intoxications or insufficiencies.

Specificities of the method

Patients are required to undergo a series of medical examinations and complete several questionnaires, focusing particularly on diet and potential exposure to certain toxins. A nutritional program, dietary supplements, and potentially a sports program or sleep exercises, are indicated to improve body balance.
Functional medicine professionals define themselves according to these 5 principles:
"1) Functional medicine considers us all different; genetically and biochemically unique. This personalized health care treats the individual, not the disease. It supports the body's normal healing mechanisms, naturally, rather than directly attacking disease.
2) Functional medicine is based on science. The latest research shows us that what happens inside us is connected in a complicated network or web of relationships. Understanding these relationships allows us to see deeply into how the body works.

3) Your body is intelligent and has the capacity for self-regulation, which is expressed through a dynamic balance of all your body systems.
4) Your body has the ability to heal and prevent almost all diseases of aging.
5) Health is not only the absence of disease, but a state of immense vitality."

Who is this method for ?

Patients suffering from digestive problems, intolerances, neuro-hormonal problems, intoxications, inflammations...

Numerous studies have highlighted the biochemical disorders of neuro-atypic children. For example, analyses of ASD patients reveal under-methylation (>95%), stress-oxidative (>85%), excess copper, zinc deficiency, hypersensitivity to toxic metals, weakness of the immune and digestive systems, particularly intolerance to certain proteins such as casein, gluten under inflammation...
Functional medicine can thus prove useful in order to act on the restoration of good performance at the biochemical, cellular and molecular level.

What parents say about it

"In my practical FP studies, I was extremely frustrated by the lack of improvement in the majority of patients. »
"As a person with myalgic encephalomyelitis (chronic fatigue syndrome), I can tell you first-hand that consulting a functional physician was the best thing I've done so far. Everything is based on biochemistry and molecular biology. I find it very fascinating, but of course I wish I hadn't had to be in this situation in the first place. Personally, I don't believe that functional medicine should be called "alternative medicine". »

Scientific references

Association of the Functional Medicine Model of Care With Patient-Reported Health-Related Quality-of-Life Outcomes
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6822085/
"This study suggests that the functional medicine model of care may have beneficial and long-lasting links to improved quality of daily life for patients, as measured by the PROMIS GPH and GMH scores. The use of PROMIS measures can provide timely information about a patient's overall health and could improve chronic disease management. »

Form Follows Function: A Functional Medicine Overview
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5101104/
"The practice of functional medicine highlights these four essential components
Listen to the patient explain their views on their illness at the time of initial admission.
Assess, prioritize and focus on modifiable lifestyle factors.
Organize the patient's clinical imbalances by underlying causes within a systems biology matrix framework; and
Create a therapeutic partnership between doctor and patient.
Functional medicine applies to all health care disciplines and specialties, all of which can apply this approach using the Functional Medicine Matrix Model as a model for organizing data and discovering new knowledge. The operating system and approach of functional medicine builds an interdisciplinary model and provides effective clinical tools to prevent, treat and reverse complex chronic diseases. »
 

Any remarks or comments ?

This work is based on a collaborative approach to sharing research and family experience.

If you have any comments, suggestions for modifications or corrections or clarifications to make, please let us know by email at contact@leneurogroupe.org

Médecine fonctionnelle

Présentation générale

La médecine fonctionnelle est une approche systémique de l’individu qui se concentre sur l'identification de l’origine du trouble et la lutte contre la cause profonde de la maladie.

 

Elle est basée sur l'évolution de la recherche en science nutritionnelle, génomique et épigénétique.

Principaux objectifs de la méthode
  • Les soins administrés sous le joug de la médecine fonctionnelle ont pour objectif de rétablir un équilibre au niveau biochimique. 

  • Elle part d’une évaluation des troubles biochimiques, des inflammations, intoxications, d’insuffisance mitochondriale, de la synthèse insuffisante de protéines, etc qui peut être réalisé à partir de tests de laboratoires et/ou de questionnaires médicaux très détaillés.

  • Elle propose ensuite des adaptations alimentaires, de l’hygiène de vie, divers types de compléments nutritionnels pour combler les carences et lutter contre les intoxications ou insuffisances.

Spécificités de la méthode

Les patients doivent passer une série d’examens médicaux et remplir plusieurs questionnaires, particulièrement axés sur l’alimentation et la potentielle exposition à certaines toxines. Un programme nutritionnel, des compléments alimentaires, et potentiellement un programme sportif ou des exercices de sommeil, sont indiqués pour améliorer l’équilibre corporel.

Les professionnels de médecine fonctionnelle se définissent selon ces 5 principes :

“1) La médecine fonctionnelle nous considère tous comme différents; génétiquement et biochimiquement unique. Ces soins de santé personnalisés traitent l'individu, pas la maladie. Il soutient les mécanismes de guérison normaux du corps, naturellement, plutôt que d'attaquer directement la maladie.

2) La médecine fonctionnelle est fondée sur la science. Les dernières recherches nous montrent que ce qui se passe en nous est connecté dans un réseau ou un réseau de relations compliqué. Comprendre ces relations nous permet de voir profondément dans le fonctionnement du corps.

3) Votre corps est intelligent et a la capacité d'autorégulation, qui s'exprime à travers un équilibre dynamique de tous vos systèmes corporels.

4) Votre corps a la capacité de guérir et de prévenir presque toutes les maladies du vieillissement.

5) La santé n'est pas seulement l'absence de maladie, mais un état de vitalité immense.”

A qui s’adresse la méthode ?

Patients souffrant de problèmes digestifs, intolérances, problèmes neuro-hormonaux, intoxications, inflammations…

 

De nombreuses études ont mis en évidence les troubles biochimiques des enfants neuro-atypiques. Par exemple, les analyses des patients TSA révèlent sous-méthylation (>95%), stress-oxydatif (>85%), excès de cuivre, carence en zinc, hypersensitivité aux métaux toxiques, faiblesse du système immunitaire et digestif notamment intolérance à certaines protéines telles caséine, gluten sous d’inflammation…

La médecine fonctionnelle peut ainsi se révéler utile, afin d’agir sur le rétablissement de la bonne performance au niveau biochimique, cellulaire et moléculaire.

Ce qu’en disent les parents

« Lors de mes études pratiques de MF, j'ai été extrêmement frustré par l'absence d'amélioration constatée chez la majorité des patients. »

« En tant que personne souffrant d'encéphalomyélite myalgique (syndrome de fatigue chronique), je peux vous dire de première main que consulter un médecin en médecine fonctionnelle a été la meilleure chose que j'ai faite jusqu'ici. Tout est basé sur la biochimie et la biologie moléculaire. Je trouve cela très fascinant, mais bien sûr, j'aurais aimé ne pas avoir à me retrouver dans une telle situation dès le départ. Personnellement, je ne crois pas que la médecine fonctionnelle doive être qualifiée de "médecine alternative". »

Références scientifiques

Association of the Functional Medicine Model of Care With Patient-Reported Health-Related Quality-of-Life Outcomes

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6822085/

« La présente étude suggère que le modèle de soins de la médecine fonctionnelle pourrait avoir des liens bénéfiques et durables avec une amélioration de la qualité de vie quotidienne chez les patients, telle que mesurée par les scores PROMIS GPH et GMH. L'utilisation des mesures PROMIS peut fournir des informations opportunes sur la santé globale d'un patient et pourrait améliorer la gestion des maladies chroniques. »

 

Form Follows Function: A Functional Medicine Overview

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5101104/

« La pratique de la médecine fonctionnelle met en évidence ces quatre composantes essentielles

Écouter le patient expliquer son point de vue sur sa maladie au moment de l'admission initiale.

Évaluer, classer par ordre de priorité et se concentrer sur les facteurs modifiables du mode de vie du patient.

Organiser les déséquilibres cliniques du patient par causes sous-jacentes dans un cadre matriciel de biologie systémique ; et

Créer un partenariat thérapeutique entre le médecin et le patient.

La médecine fonctionnelle s'applique à toutes les disciplines et spécialités des soins de santé, qui peuvent toutes appliquer cette approche en utilisant le modèle de matrice de la médecine fonctionnelle comme modèle pour organiser les données et découvrir de nouvelles connaissances. Le système d'exploitation et l'approche de la médecine fonctionnelle construisent un modèle interdisciplinaire et fournissent des outils cliniques efficaces pour prévenir, traiter et inverser les maladies chroniques complexes. »

Des remarques ou commentaires ?

Ce travail repose sur une approche collaborative de mise en commun de recherches et de l'expérience des familles.

Si vous avez des remarques, des suggestions de modifications ou corrections ou des précisions à apporter merci de nous en faire part par email à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Contactez-nous

Le Neuro Groupe

6 bd du Général Leclerc

92110 Clichy

Ecole Walt

2 rue Dranem

75011 Paris

Pour être tenu au courant par email