Speech therapy

General overview

Speech therapy comes from the Greek ortho (correct) and phonè (voice). This word was coined in 1828, when Doctor Colombat created the Institut Orthophonique de paris for the "recovery of speech and in particular stuttering".

 

Speech therapy experienced a real boom thanks to Mrs Borel-Maisonny who extended the scope of the method to include the rehabilitation of language disorders. It also created training centres that issued the first certificates of speech and language therapy studies in 1955. The legal status of the profession of speech and language therapist was established by the law of 10 July 1964 creating the Certificate of Competence in Speech and Language Therapy. Today, the Certificate of Competence as a Speech-Language Pathologist (CCO) is prepared in 5 years in a Master's degree attached to a medical UFR, following a very selective competition.

Main objectives of the method

The main objective of speech-language pathology is to treat abnormalities of a pathological nature, voice, speech and oral or written language. The method thus makes it possible to prevent, evaluate and treat difficulties or disorders: 

  • Oral and written language and communication, 

  • Oro-myo-faial functions

  • Other cognitive activities, such as those related to phonation, speech, oral and written language, mathematical cognition. 

The method may also consist of 

  • Maintain communication and oral functions in degenerative and neurodegenerative diseases 

  • Provide training in other forms of non-verbal communication to complement or supplement verbal functions. 

Specificities of the method

Speech-language pathology is a profession of care that has the particularity of acting on and through language, and not only on language as a tool for communication and information, but also on language as a power of evocation. 

The psychological dimension can be an important element of language impairment and any intervention to address it.

Each speech therapy assessment is therefore strictly personal and often multidisciplinary and coordinated by a specialised doctor. 

Who is this method for ?

The method is intended for children with a disorder that disrupts language or oral or written communication.

 

  • In children aged 3 to 4 years there is an indication of speech and language therapy assessment in the absence of intelligible language for unfamiliar people, in the absence of grammatical structure or comprehension disorders.

  • In children aged 4 to 5 years, the speech and language therapy assessment may be indicated in the event of a delay in expression

  • For any child over 5 years of age, the speech and language therapy assessment is justified not only in the cases mentioned above, but also in the face of any language disorder of any kind (in particular phonological disorders that may hinder the learning of reading)

Scientific references

Oral language: current data and perspectives in speech and language therapy, Thierry Rousseau, 2010, https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/Le-langage-oral-%3A-donn%C3%A9es-actuelles-et-perspectives-Rousseau/edab3325befcdd6e28bd8af58644a67667f8d111

 

Speech and language therapy, the springboard of the past, the dynamism of the present, the development of the future, Françoise Estienne, Dominique Mrosomme, 2004, https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/Orthophonie%2C-le-tremplin-du-pass%C3%A9%2C-le-dynamisme-du-Estienne-Morsomme/a399db984cbee13161417dad760fa19f0caccddd


Evaluation and rehabilitation of the voice: clinical and objective approach, Anne Ménin-Sicard, 2016, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nlmcatalog/101726309

To know more about the topic

The official website of the National Federation of Speech-Language Pathologists, https://www.fno.fr/lorthophonie/

 

The official website of the National Federation of Speech-Language Pathologists of France (FOF), https://federation-des-orthophonistes-de-france.fr/notre-conception-de-lorthophonie/

 

The health passport sheet on speech therapy, https://www.passeportsante.net/fr/Therapies/Guide/Fiche.aspx?doc=orthophonie

 

Specificities of early therapies with young children without language, Anne Lainé, Enfances et Psy 2009 / 1, https://www.cairn.info/revue-enfances-et-psy-2009-1-page-119.htm#

 

Study on the fields of intervention of speech and language therapists, the specificities

 and cooperation with other professions, National Observatory of the Demography of the Health Professions, 2011, https://solidarites-sante.gouv.fr/IMG/pdf/Etude_sur_le_metier_d_orthophoniste.pdf

 

Speech and language therapy in specific disorders of oral language development in children aged 3 to 6 years, National Agency for Accreditation and Health Assessment, May 2001, http://www.medecine.ups-tlse.fr/dcem3/module03/ANAES2001ORTHOPHONIELANGAGE.pdf

 

The follow-up in speech therapy of a young child in an erééducation service for the rehabilitation of neurological pathologies acquired from the child, Pauline Steck-Bajon, Contrast, 2014, https://www.cairn.info/revue-contraste-2014-1-page-219.htm

 

Legislative texts

 

The definition of speech-language pathology was published in the law in January 2016: Article L4341-1 of the Public Health Code is amended by Law n°2016-41 of 26 January 2016 - art. 126.

Decree 2002-721 of 2 May 2002 on professional acts and the practice of the speech and language therapy profession

Any remarks or comments ?

This work is based on a collaborative approach to sharing research and family experience.

If you have any comments, suggestions for modifications or corrections or clarifications to make, please let us know by email at contact@leneurogroupe.org

ORTOPHONIE

Présentation générale

L’orthophonie vient du grec ortho (correct) et phonè (voix). Ce mot est né en 1828, lors de la création par le Docteur Colombat, de l’Institut Orthophonique de paris destiné au « redressement de la parole et notamment du bégaiement ».

 

L’orthophonie connut un réel essor grâce à Madame Borel-Maisonny qui a élargi le champ d’application de la méthode en y incluant la rééducation des troubles de langage. Elle créa également des centres de formation délivrant en 1955 les premières attestations d’études d’orthophonie. Le statut légal de la profession d’orthophoniste a été institué par la loi du 10 juillet 1964 créant le Certificat de Capacité d’Orthophonie. Aujourd’hui le certificat de capacité d’orthophoniste (CCO) se prépare en 5 ans dans un master de formation rattaché à une UFR de médecine, à la suite d’un concours très sélectif.

Principaux objectifs de la méthode

Le principal objectif de l’orthophonie est de traiter des anomalies de nature pathologique, de la voix, de la parole et du langage oral ou écrit. La méthode permet ainsi de prévenir, évaluer et traiter les difficultés ou troubles : 

  • Du langage oral et écrit et de la communication, 

  • Des fonctions oro-myo-faiales

  • Des autres activités cognitives, celles liées par exemple à la phonation, à la parole, au langage oral et écrit, à la cognition mathématique. 

 

La méthode peut consister aussi à 

  • Maintenir les fonctions de communication et de l’oralité dans les pathologies dégénératives et neuro-dégénératives 

  • Dispenser l’apprentissage d’autres formes de communication non verbale permettant de compléter ou de suppléer les fonctions verbales. 

Spécificités de la méthode

L’orthophonie est une profession de soin qui a la particularité d’agir sur et par le langage, et pas seulement sur le langage comme outil de communication et d’information, mais aussi le langage, comme puissance d’évocation. 

La dimension psychique peut être un élément important du trouble du langage et de toute intervention visant à y remédier.

Chaque bilan d’orthophonie est donc strictement personnel et souvent multidisciplinaire coordonnée par un médecin spécialisé. 

A qui s’adresse la méthode ?

La méthode s’adresse aux enfants qui ont un trouble qui perturbe le langage ou la communication orale ou écrite.

  • Chez l’enfant de 3 à 4 ans il y a indication de bilan orthophonique en cas d’absence de langage intelligible pour les personnes non familières, en cas d’absence de structure grammaticale ou de troubles de la compréhension

  • Chez l’enfant de 4 à 5 ans, le bilan orthophonique peut être indiqué en cas de retard dans l’expression

  • Pour tout enfant de plus de 5 ans, le bilan orthophonique est justifié non seulement dans les cas cités précédemment, mais aussi devant tout trouble du langage quel qu’il soit (en particulier les troubles phonologiques qui peuvent gêner à l’apprentissage de la lecture)

Ce qu’en disent les parents

« Notre fille avait des grandes difficultés et réticences à s’exprimer. Nous l’avons emmené chez un orthophoniste qui nous a aidé à mieux comprendre comment aider notre enfant sans langage à développer les signes pré-linguistiques. La voir s’approprier peu à peu la langue était fascinant et encourageant. » - Mère de Clothilde

Références scientifiques

Le langage oral : données actuelles et perspectives en orthophonie, Thierry Rousseau, 2010, https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/Le-langage-oral-%3A-donn%C3%A9es-actuelles-et-perspectives-Rousseau/edab3325befcdd6e28bd8af58644a67667f8d111

 

Orthophonie, le tremplin du passé, le dynamisme du présent, l’essor du futur, Françoise Estienne, Dominique Mrosomme, 2004, https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/Orthophonie%2C-le-tremplin-du-pass%C3%A9%2C-le-dynamisme-du-Estienne-Morsomme/a399db984cbee13161417dad760fa19f0caccddd


Évaluation et réhabilitation de la voix : approche clinique et objective, Anne Ménin-Sicard, 2016, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nlmcatalog/101726309

En savoir plus

Le site officiel de fédération nationale des orthophonistes, https://www.fno.fr/lorthophonie/

Le site officiel de la fédération nationale des Orthophonistes de France (FOF), https://federation-des-orthophonistes-de-france.fr/notre-conception-de-lorthophonie/

 

La fiche sur passeport santé sur l’orthophonie, https://www.passeportsante.net/fr/Therapies/Guide/Fiche.aspx?doc=orthophonie

 

Spécificités des thérapies précoces avec de jeunes enfants sans langage, Anne Lainé, Enfances et Psy 2009 / 1, https://www.cairn.info/revue-enfances-et-psy-2009-1-page-119.htm#

 

Etude sur les champs d’interventions des orthophonistes, les spécificités

 et les coopérations avec d’autres professions, Observatoire National de la Démographie des Professions de Santé, 2011, https://solidarites-sante.gouv.fr/IMG/pdf/Etude_sur_le_metier_d_orthophoniste.pdf

 

L’Orthophonie dans les troubles spécifiques du développement du langage oral chez l’enfant de 3 à 6 ans, Agence Nationale d’Accréditation et d’Evaluation en Santé, mai 2001, http://www.medecine.ups-tlse.fr/dcem3/module03/ANAES2001ORTHOPHONIELANGAGE.pdf

 

Le suivi en orthophonie dun jeune enfant au sein d’un service d erééducation des pathologies neurologiques acquises de l’enfant, Pauline Steck-Bajon, Contraste, 2014, https://www.cairn.info/revue-contraste-2014-1-page-219.htm

Textes législatifs

La définition de l’orthophonie est parue dans la loi en janvier 2016 : l’article L4341-1 du code de la santé publique est modifié par la LOI n°2016-41 du 26 janvier 2016 – art. 126.

Le décret 2002-721 du 2 mai 2002 relatif aux actes professionnels et à l’exercice de la profession d’orthophoniste

Des remarques ou commentaires ?

Ce travail repose sur une approche collaborative de mise en commun de recherches et de l'expérience des familles.

Si vous avez des remarques, des suggestions de modifications ou corrections ou des précisions à apporter merci de nous en faire part par email à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Contactez-nous

Le Neuro Groupe

6 bd du Général Leclerc

92110 Clichy

Ecole Walt

2 rue Dranem

75011 Paris

Pour être tenu au courant par email