ROBOTIC POWER ASSIST TECHNOLOGY:

LOKOMAT

General Overview

Robotic locomotor therapy by an electro-mechanized exoskeleton of the lower limbs.


The Lokomat is a robotic device whose purpose is to re-educate the patient to walk. The system consists of attaching the patient's legs to robotic legs imitating walking motion that will assist by holding the patient in an upright position and
triggering the movements to be performed.


The Lokomat was created to be a high-tech alternative to traditional" re-education.

Source: compilation of  YouTube videos ( fair use ) - if you want to remove content contact us at contact@leneurogroupe.org

Main objectives of the method

The main objective of the Lokomat is to reproduce a gesture as naturally as possible, in a repetitive and identical way. The therapist is able to create a customized session for the patient, adapting the exoskeleton in terms of walking speed, weight supported by the patient and, on the contrary, weight compensated by the machine.

 

The final objective is to restore the patient's ability to walk independently. Finally, the complete support by the machine allows the therapist to focus entirely on the patient and his progression rather than on his standing position.  

Specificities of the method

A session lasts about an hour. During this hour, the therapist remains at the patient's side to encourage and guide him/her. The Lokomat allows a very vertical, robotized and therefore repetitive walk, it is this repetition that gives it all its interest compared to a traditional technique. The controlled decrease in passive assistance encourages the patient to participate more, as the sessions progress.

 

The Lokomat also differs from the manual rehabilitation method in that it provides feedback to the patient by taking into account multiple indicators when the machine is working on them.

 

Bio-Feedback provides real-time visual feedback on performance: increases patient motivation through active participation (3D environment)

 

The evaluation module: the exoskeleton is equipped with force sensors at the joints to measure the patient's activity and thus quantify progress and guide rehabilitation

4.jpg
Who is the method for ?

Lokomat is part of a walking rehabilitation process for people suffering from cerebral palsy, hemiplegia or hemiparesis, stroke or trauma related to an accident.

What parents say about it

"My little athlete was struggling but his leg muscles got a lot stronger... The child is "walking" thanks to the machine but also works according to his possibilities in the right position, not on tiptoe, knees inwards and arms in duck... Nelly, the centre director, explained to me that this allows the brain to record the right way to walk what therapists can't do manually. »

"[In the afternoon,] Valentine had Lokomat, a machine that works! ... Valentine's head when he first "walked"! For me it was very moving, for the first time I saw my son standing upright, walking as if he had not had an oxygen problem during my pregnancy and that he was not affected by cerebral palsy..."

"The problem is the price"

 

For Dr Hervé CARLIER "This is the best thing that can be done today in terms of neural rehabilitation. Arméo Power and Lokomat offer patients the best possible care to increase their chances of recovery. »

 

For Bernard Hérent, Physiotherapist: "Complementary to the therapist, the repetitive action of the Lokomat and the Arméo Power corresponds to the acts of walking and movement that we cannot reproduce naturally. They really allow us to go further than the gestures of movement". 

Scientific references

The effects of Lokomat® on the quality of gait during the rehabilitation of an early phase hemiplegic patient

https://ifpek.centredoc.org/doc_num.php?explnum_id=54

 

 

 

 

Can Lokomat therapy with children and adolescents be improved? An adaptive clinical pilot trial comparing Guidance force, Path control, and FreeD, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5513325/

Remarks or comments?

This work is based on a collaborative approach to sharing research and family experience.

If you have any comments, suggestions for modifications or corrections or clarifications to make, please let us know by email at contact@leneurogroupe.org

TECHNOLOGIE D'ASSISTANCE MOTRICE ROBOTISÉE : LOKOMAT

Présentation générale

Thérapie locomotrice robotisée par un exosquelette de membres inférieurs électromécanisé.


Le Lokomat est un appareil robotisé dont le but est de rééduquer le patient à la marche. Le système consiste à attacher les jambes du patient à des jambes robotiques imitant un mouvement de marche qui assisteront en le maintenant en position verticale et en
enclenchant les mouvements à effectuer.


Le Lokomat a été créé pour être une alternative haute technologie aux techniques de
rééducation « traditionnelles ».

Source : compilation de vidéos YouTube (utilisation équitable) - si vous souhaitez supprimer un contenu contactez nous à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Principaux objectifs de la méthode

L’objectif principal du Lokomat est de reproduire un geste le plus naturellement possible, de manière répétitive et identique. Le thérapeute est en mesure de créer une séance sur mesure pour le patient, en adaptant l’exosquelette en termes de vitesse de marche, de poids supporté par le patient et, au contraire, de poids compensé par la machine.

 

L’objectif final est de redonner au patient une capacité de marche autonome. Enfin, la prise en charge complète par la machine permet au thérapeute de se focaliser entièrement sur le patient et sa progression plutôt que sur son maintien en position debout.  

Spécificités de la méthode

Une séance dure environ une heure. Au cours de cette heure, le thérapeute reste aux côtés du patient pour l’encourager et le guider. Le Lokomat permet une marche très verticale, robotisée et donc répétitive, c’est cette répétition qui lui donne tout son intérêt par rapport à une technique traditionnelle. La diminution contrôlée de l’assistance passive encourage le patient à participer davantage, au fur et à mesure des séances.

 

Le Lokomat se distingue également de la méthode de rééducation manuelle par le “feedback” donné au patient, grâce à la prise en compte lors de l’effort de multiples indicateurs par la machine.

  • Le Bio-Feedback donne un rétro-contrôle visuel en temps réel des performances : augmente la motivation du patient par une participation active  (environnement 3D)

  • Le module d’évaluation : l’exosquelette est doté de capteurs de force au niveau des articulations qui permettent de mesurer l'activité du patient et ainsi de quantifier les progrès et d'orienter la rééducation

A qui s’adresse la méthode ?

Le Lokomat s’inscrit dans un processus de rééducation à la marche destiné aux personnes souffrant de paralysie cérébrale, hémiplégie ou hémiparésie, d’accidents vasculaires cérébraux ou de traumatismes liés à un accident.

Ce qu’en disent les parents

« Mon petit athlète avait du mal mais ses muscles des jambes se sont sacrément renforcés…L’enfant « marche » grâce à la machine mais travaille aussi en fonction de ses possibilités dans la bonne position, pas sur la pointe des pieds, les genoux en dedans et les bras en canard… Nelly, la directrice du centre, m’a expliqué que cela permettait au cerveau d’enregistrer la bonne manière de marcher ce que les thérapeutes ne peuvent pas faire manuellement. »

« [L’après-midi,] Valentin avait Lokomat, une machine qui fait marcher ! … La tête de Valentin quand il a « marché » pour la première fois ! Pour moi c’était très émouvant, je voyais pour la première fois mon fils à la verticale, en train de marcher comme s’il n’avait pas eu de problème d’oxygène pendant ma grossesse et qu’il n’était pas touché par la paralysie cérébrale… »

« Le hic c’est le prix »

 

Pour le Dr Hervé CARLIER « C'est ce qui se fait de mieux aujourd'hui en termes de rééducation neuronale. L'Arméo Power et le Lokomat offrent aux patients la meilleure prise en charge possible pour leur permettre d'augmenter leurs chances de récupération. »

 

Pour Bernard Hérent, Kinésithérapeute : « Complémentaire du thérapeute, l'action répétitive du Lokomat et de l'Arméo Power correspond aux actes de marche et de mouvement que nous ne pouvons pas reproduire naturellement. Ils permettent vraiment d'aller plus loin que la gestuelle du mouvement » 

Références scientifiques

Les effets du Lokomat® dans la qualité de la marche lors de la rééducation d’un hémiplégique en phase précoce

https://ifpek.centredoc.org/doc_num.php?explnum_id=54

Can Lokomat therapy with children and adolescents be improved? An adaptive clinical pilot trial comparing Guidance force, Path control, and FreeD, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5513325/

Des remarques ou commentaires ?

Ce travail repose sur une approche collaborative de mise en commun de recherches et de l'expérience des familles.

Si vous avez des remarques, des suggestions de modifications ou corrections ou des précisions à apporter merci de nous en faire part par email à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Contactez-nous

Le Neuro Groupe

6 bd du Général Leclerc

92110 Clichy

Ecole Walt

2 rue Dranem

75011 Paris

Pour être tenu au courant par email