ALTERNATIVE AND ENHANCED COMMUNICATION:
MAKATON, PECS, TABLET, RETT UNIVERSITY

General overview

The use of Alternative and Augmented Communication began in 1950 with patients who lost the ability to speak after surgery. But it was not until 1980 that AAC began to emerge as a field in its own right thanks to rapid advances in technology (computers, touch pads, voice synthesis systems, eye-tracking, etc.). 

 

There are several forms of AAC today: 

  • AAC without technical assistance (those who do not require any external tools and use only voice, gestures, sign systems or facial expression) 

  • The technically assisted CAA (with or without an electronic device to transmit or receive a message).  

 

There are several methods of AAC for example: 

  • The Makaton programme: a comprehensive and very flexible communication programme developed by Margaret Walker, a British speech and language therapist in the 1970s, based on a vocabulary of 450 concepts organised on 8 levels (and one complementary level) and 7000 concepts organised by theme. The objective is to conduct a real reflection with the child on the choice of concepts while adapting to his or her specific needs.  This program is easily adapted to the different communication needs: development of oral, written, vocabulary, syntax, articulation, according to different levels of use. 

  • The PECS program: it is an image exchange communication system developed in the USA in 1985 by Dr. Andy Bondy and speech therapist Lori Frost, implemented today worldwide with thousands of learners of all ages. The method is based on B.F. Skinner's book Verbal Behabior and is divided into six phases, the main objective being to teach functional communication.  

  • The Rett University program: developed for children with Rett syndrome, this method is also adapted for children with motor and non-verbal disorders (severe cerebral palsy for example)

Main objectives of the method

Alternative and Augmented Communication (or AAC) covers all the human means and tools that enable a person with communication difficulties to communicate (i.e., to understand his environment and be understood by his entourage) by replacing oral language if it is absent (alternative) or by improving insufficient communication (augmented). The objective of the CAA is to enable children to better understand their environment, by making them more readable and predictable to facilitate their ease of understanding and to offer them various means and tools to help them express themselves. 

Specificities of the method

AAC is a repetitive and regular method that uses symbols as a medium of passage to oral communication (gestures, photographs, drawings, letters, words, used alone or in combination). The specificity of this method consists in an intensive use of specific equipment (electronic or not) to find accessible and understandable alternatives to verbal or written communication. 

 

The Makaton program is very flexible and can be easily adapted to the child's level thanks to the many tools available. However, this program mainly uses pictograms, sometimes abstract, to force children to conceptualize words. 

 

The images in the PECS programme are freely chosen (e.g. images from the child's favourite book), which adds an emotional dimension to the learning. 

 

Makaton

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pecs

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rett University

unnamed.png
unnamed (1).png
unnamed (2).png
unnamed (3).png
Who is this method for ?

AAC is for children with a wide range of speech and language disorders, which may be caused by cerebral palsy, intellectual disability, autism... to enable them to communicate as effectively as possible in all situations of daily life.

What parents say about it

William's mother, 3 and a half years old, also practices PECS on a daily basis and is rather optimistic. Her little boy was diagnosed with autism a little over two months ago at the Robert Debré Hospital in Paris. He does not speak at all, but already, with the PECS, he has made progress in getting in touch.

Scientific references

Making progress with Makaton, Daiane Cristina Volpato, 1986, https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/Making-progress-with-Makaton.-Volpato-Orton/238d170324e8329b53929fec53bec3c34637101cThe Makaton Vocabulary – Uses and effectivneness, Margaret Walker, 1987, https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/The-Makaton-Vocabulary--Uses-and-Effectiveness.-Walker/51123883e6095cebd7db1f7deb6bef7d925798eb

 

AAC technologies for young children with complex communication needs : state of the science and future research directions, Janice Light, 2007, https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/AAC-technologies-for-young-children-with-complex-of-Light-Drager/5610a71ba6108436f32121191e23033734a51097

 

Using the picture exchange communication system (PECS) with children with autism : assessment of PECS acquisition, speech, social-communicative behabior and problem behavior, Krstien Kellet, 2002, https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/Using-the-picture-exchange-communication-system-of-Charlop-Christy-Carpenter/7b76719aeb5a6d9d37845b52f351bace914ffcce

To know more about the topic

Special Education Topics: What is AAC ?, ThoughtCO, https://www.thoughtco.com/special-education-topics-what-is-aac-3110636

 

Rettu University, official website, https://rettuniversity.org/

 

Alternative and Augmented Communication (AAC), Information booklet for families of persons with ASD, file:////Users /Downloads/la-caa-livret-dinformation-a-destination-of-families-of-persons-tsa.pdf

 

A very comprehensive presentation on AAC: http://www.canalautisme.com/uploads/2/4/1/3/24138100/support_caa3.pdf

 

On the PECS: https://pecs-france.fr/picture-exchange-communication-system-pecs/

 

PECS, a short guide for parents, https://www.parents.fr/bebe/sante/autisme/autisme-petit-guide-sur-le-pecs-pour-les-parents-5668

Any remarks or comments ?

This work is based on a collaborative approach to sharing research and family experience.

If you have any comments, suggestions for modifications or corrections or clarifications to make, please let us know by email at contact@leneurogroupe.org

COMMUNICATION ALTERNATIVE ET AUGMENTÉE:

MAKATON, PECS, TABLETTE, RETT UNIVERSITY

Présentation générale

L’utilisation de la Communication Alternative et Augmentée a commencée en 1950 auprès des patients qui ont perdu la capacité de parler après une intervention chirurgicale. Mais ce n’est qu’en 1980 que le CAA a commencé à émerger comme un domaine à part entière grâce aux progrès rapides de la technologie (ordinateurs, tablettes tactiles, systèmes de synthèse vocale, eye-tracking...). 

 

Il existe aujourd’hui plusieurs formes de CAA : 

  • le CAA sans assistance technique (ceux qui ne nécessitent aucun outil externe et n’utilisent que la voix, les gestes, les systèmes du signe ou l’expression du visage) 

  • le CAA techniquement assisté (avec un dispositif électronique ou non permettant de transmettre ou de recevoir un message).  

 

Il existe plusieurs méthodes de CAA par exemple : 

  • Le programme Makaton : un programme complet de communication très flexible mis au point par Margaret Walker, orthophoniste britannique dans les années 70, basé sur un vocabulaire de 450 concepts organisés sur 8 niveaux (et un niveau complémentaire) et 7000 concepts organisés par thèmes. L’objectif est de mener avec l’enfant une réelle réflexion sur le choix des concepts tout en s’adaptant à ses besoins spécifiques.  Ce programme s’adapte facilement aux différents besoins de communication : développement de l’oral, de l’écrit, du vocabulaire, de la syntaxe, de l’articulation, selon différents niveaux d’utilisation. 

  • Le programme PECS : c’est un système de communication par échange d’image développé aux USA en 1985 par le Dr. Andy Bondy et l’orthophoniste Lori Frost, mis en place aujourd’hui dans le monde entier avec des milliers d’apprenants de tout âge. La méthode est basée sur l’ouvrage Verbal Behabior de B.F. Skinner et se décompose en six phases, l’objectif principal étant d’enseigner la communication fonctionnelle.  

  • Le programme de la Rett University : développé pour les enfants ayant un syndrome de Rett, cette méthode est également adaptée pour des enfants ayant des troubles moteurs et non-verbaux (cas sévère de paralysie cérébrale par exemple)

Principaux objectifs de la méthode

La Communication Alternative et Augmentée (ou CAA) recouvre tous les moyens humains et outils permettant à une personne ayant des difficultés dans la communication, de communiquer (c’est-à-dire, comprendre son environnement et être comprise par son entourage) en remplaçant le langage oral s’il est absent (alternative) ou en améliorant une communication insuffisante (augmentée). L’objectif du CAA est de permettre à l’enfant de mieux comprendre son environnement, en le rendant plus lisible et prévisible pour faciliter sa facilité de compréhension et de lui proposer des moyens et outils variés pour l’aider à s’exprimer. 

Spécificités de la méthode

Le CAA est une méthode répétitive et régulière qui utilise des symboles comme médias de passage vers la communication orale (des gestes, des photographies, des dessins, des lettres, des mots, utilisés seuls ou en combinaison). La spécificité de cette méthode consiste en une utilisation intensive de matériel spécifique (électronique ou non) pour trouver des alternatives accessibles et compréhensibles à la communication verbale ou écrite. 

 

Le programme Makaton est très flexible et s’adapte facilement au niveau de l’enfant grâce aux nombreux outils à disposition. Cependant ce programme utilise essentiellement des pictogrammes, parfois abstraits pour obliger les enfants à conceptualiser les mots. 

 

Les images dans le cadre du programme PECS sont choisies librement (par exemple les images du livre préféré de l’enfant), ce qui permet de rajouter une dimension émotionnelle à l’apprentissage. 

 

Makaton

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pecs

 

 

Rett University

A qui s’adresse la méthode ?

Le CAA s’adresse aux enfants présentant un large éventail de troubles de parole et du langage, dont l’origine peut être la paralysie cérébrale, la déficience intellectuelle, l’autisme ... pour leur permettre de communiquer de la manière la plus efficace possible dans toutes les situations de la vie quotidienne.

Ce qu’en disent les parents

La maman de William, 3 ans et demi, pratique aussi le PECS au quotidien et elle est plutôt optimiste. Son petit garçon a été diagnostiqué autiste il y a un peu plus de deux mois, à l’hôpital Robert Debré à Paris. Il ne parle pas du tout mais déjà, avec le PECS, il a fait des progrès pour rentrer en communication.

Références scientifiques

Making progress with Makaton, Daiane Cristina Volpato, 1986, https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/Making-progress-with-Makaton.-Volpato-Orton/238d170324e8329b53929fec53bec3c34637101cThe Makaton Vocabulary – Uses and effectivneness, Margaret Walker, 1987, https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/The-Makaton-Vocabulary--Uses-and-Effectiveness.-Walker/51123883e6095cebd7db1f7deb6bef7d925798eb

 

AAC technologies for young children with complex communication needs : state of the science and future research directions, Janice Light, 2007, https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/AAC-technologies-for-young-children-with-complex-of-Light-Drager/5610a71ba6108436f32121191e23033734a51097

 

Using the picture exchange communication system (PECS) with children with autism : assessment of PECS acquisition, speech, social-communicative behabior and problem behavior, Krstien Kellet, 2002, https://www.semanticscholar.org/paper/Using-the-picture-exchange-communication-system-of-Charlop-Christy-Carpenter/7b76719aeb5a6d9d37845b52f351bace914ffcce

En savoir plus

Special Education Topics : What is AAC ?, ThoughtCO, https://www.thoughtco.com/special-education-topics-what-is-aac-3110636

 

Rettu University, official website, https://rettuniversity.org/

 

La Communication Alternative et Augmentée (CAA), Livret d’information à destination des familles de personnes TSA, file:///Users /Downloads/la-caa-livret-dinformation-a-destination-des-familles-de-personnes-tsa.pdf

 

Un exposé très complet sur le CAA : http://www.canalautisme.com/uploads/2/4/1/3/24138100/support_caa3.pdf

 

Sur le PECS : https://pecs-france.fr/picture-exchange-communication-system-pecs/

 

PECS, petit guide pour les parents, https://www.parents.fr/bebe/sante/autisme/autisme-petit-guide-sur-le-pecs-pour-les-parents-5668

Des remarques ou commentaires ?

Ce travail repose sur une approche collaborative de mise en commun de recherches et de l'expérience des familles.

Si vous avez des remarques, des suggestions de modifications ou corrections ou des précisions à apporter merci de nous en faire part par email à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Contactez-nous

Le Neuro Groupe

6 bd du Général Leclerc

92110 Clichy

Pour être tenu au courant par email