Craniosacral therapy 

General overview

Craniosacral therapy has its roots in osteopathy. It focuses on the central nervous system (brain) and the cerebrospinal fluid (the fluid in which the brain is "bathed") in the body. 
Developed at the beginning of the 20th century, cranio-sacral therapy is based on the observation that the cerebrospinal fluid and the spinal cord move at a certain rhythm, spreading throughout the body and providing it with essential impulses. Therapists, as soon as they are able to feel this rhythm in contact with the skull, are also able to restore its balance with the help of gentle impulses. 

Source: compilation of  YouTube videos ( fair use ) - if you want to remove content contact us at contact@leneurogroupe.org

Main objectives of the method

Cranial impulses (the rhythms regulated by the therapist) give information about the state of the organism at multiple levels: defects and changes in the functioning of the nervous system, the state of the fascias (membranes enveloping an anatomical structure), organs, muscles and bones. 
Thus, craniosacral therapy will allow the patient to have a global overview of his organism and, through cranial contacts, to find a successful self-healing mechanism. 

Specificities of the method

The patient usually lies on the table, but a session can also be sitting, standing, or moving on the floor, especially if the patient is a child. 
The therapist, using palpations and listening to the rhythms of the cranio-sacral system (the flow of cerebrospinal fluid), evaluates the quality of the fluid and its effects in terms of tension in the organs, muscles, bones, etc. The discovery of congested areas gives the therapist indications on where to put his hands. Fine impulses on these areas can release "blocked" energy and restore a new balance. Although the session can be conducted by communicating verbally, silence is most often required. The average session lasts just under an hour for an infant or child. Individual exercises can be performed by the patient between sessions.

H2.jpg
Who is this method for ?

Cranio-sacral therapy is intended for everyone, especially for people with functional disorders, people who are suffering and under medical care, and people with nervous system disorders. 
The therapy is very suitable for infants, as it is a gentle method without active participation of the patient.

Scientific references

The use of CranioSacral therapy for Autism Spectrum Disorders: Benefits from the viewpoints of parents, clients, and therapists, study in favour of therapy for children with autism spectrum disorders. 
"This study showed that there were positive responses observed in all 3 groups studied, leading the authors to conclude that it makes sense to conduct further studies to further demonstrate the positive effects of craniosacral therapy on autistic disorders. »
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28167177 

Any remarks or comments ?

This work is based on a collaborative approach to sharing research and family experience.

If you have any comments, suggestions for modifications or corrections or clarifications to make, please let us know by email at contact@leneurogroupe.org

Thérapie craniosacrale

Présentation générale

La thérapie cranio-sacrale puise ses racines dans l’ostéopathie. Elle accorde une importance primordiale au système nerveux central (cerveau) et au liquide céphalo-rachidien (liquide dans lequel « baigne » le cerveau) dans l’organisme. 

Développée au début du XXème siècle, la thérapie cranio-sacrale part du constat que le liquide céphalo-rachidien et la moelle épinière se meuvent selon un certain rythme se propageant dans tout l’organisme et lui fournissant des impulsions qui lui sont essentielles. Les thérapeutes, dès lors qu’ils sont en mesure de ressentir ce rythme au contact du crâne, sont également capables de lui redonner, à l’aide de douces impulsions, un équilibre. 

Source : compilation de vidéos YouTube (utilisation équitable) - si vous souhaitez supprimer un contenu contactez nous à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Principaux objectifs de la méthode

Les influx crâniens (les rythmes régulés par le thérapeute) donnent des informations sur l’état de l’organisme à de multiples niveaux : les défauts et modifications de fonctionnement du système nerveux, l’état des fascias (membranes enveloppant une structure anatomique), des organes, des muscles et des os. 

Ainsi, une thérapie cranio-sacrée permettra au patient d’avoir un état des lieux global de son organisme et, par le biais de contacts crâniens, de retrouver un mécanisme d’auto-guérison performant.

Spécificités de la méthode

Le patient se couche généralement sur la table, mais une séance peut également se faire assis, debout, ou en mouvement sur le sol, notamment dans le cas où le patient est un enfant. 

Le thérapeute, à l’aide de palpations et d’écoute des rythmes du système cranio-sacré (les flux de liquide céphalo-rachidien), évalue la qualité du liquide et ses incidences en termes de tensions dans les organes, les muscles, les os... La découverte des zones congestionnées donne au thérapeute des indications sur l’endroit où poser ses mains. De fines impulsions sur ces zones peuvent libérer de l’énergie « bloquée », et rétablir un nouvel équilibre. Bien que la séance puisse se dérouler en communiquant verbalement, le silence est le plus souvent de rigueur. Une séance dure en moyenne un peu moins d’une heure pour un nourrisson ou un enfant. Des exercices individuels peuvent être réalisés par le patient entre les différentes séances.

A qui s’adresse la méthode ?

La thérapie cranio-sacrale s’adresse à tous, et tout particulièrement aux personnes souffrant de troubles fonctionnels, aux personnes souffrantes et suivies médicalement, et aux personnes souffrant de troubles du système nerveux. 

La thérapie convient tout à fait aux nourrissons, car il s’agit d’une méthode douce et sans participation active du patient.

Références scientifiques

The use of CranioSacral therapy for Autism Spectrum Disorders: Benefits from the viewpoints of parents, clients, and therapists, étude en faveur de la thérapie pour les enfants atteints de troubles autistiques. 

« Cette étude a démontré qu’il y avait des réponses positives observées au sein des 3 groupes étudiés, conduisant les auteurs à conclure qu’il est tout à fait sensé de mener des études supplémentaires pour démontrer de manière plus nette encore les effets positifs de la thérapie craniosacrale sur les troubles autistiques. »

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/28167177

Des remarques ou commentaires ?

Ce travail repose sur une approche collaborative de mise en commun de recherches et de l'expérience des familles.

Si vous avez des remarques, des suggestions de modifications ou corrections ou des précisions à apporter merci de nous en faire part par email à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Contactez-nous

Le Neuro Groupe

6 bd du Général Leclerc

92110 Clichy

Ecole Walt

2 rue Dranem

75011 Paris

Pour être tenu au courant par email