FELDENKRAÏS Method

General overview

This method was developed in the 1950s by Moshe Feldenkraïs. Following a knee injury, he developed the method to heal himself, based on his knowledge of physics, neuroscience, anatomy and his practice of martial arts. He is particularly inspired by the way children who are beginning to move discover movement.

Moshe Feldenkrais can be considered a genius in the understanding of movement, linking his knowledge as a physicist and a martial arts specialist:
After a PhD in physics in Paris, he worked in the 1930s at the Juliot-Curie laboratory on nuclear energy. 
After his meeting with Jigoro Kano, founder of Judo, he became one of the first black belts of Judo in France and co-founded the first Judo club in France.
In the 1950s, he returned to Israel and worked alongside Ben Gurion in the army and then devoted himself entirely to the development of the "Feldenkrais Method".

He has created a library of over 1000 lessons (i.e. movement choreographies) to train Feldenkrais professionals to understand themselves, enabling them to teach others how to improve their ease of movement and how to function at a higher level. Today there are over 12,000 trained practitioners worldwide.

Main objectives of the method

The Feldenkrais Method allows children to experience what the brain has been missing, what it usually learns by trial and error, especially from :
- create a clear self-image, a clear perception of their whole body (this is not innate but the typical baby learns it during these first months of life, and children with motor disorders or neurodevelopmental disorders lack the exploration that allows them to map their bodies)
- differentiate all parts of their body (this is very difficult to create naturally, especially for children who have a lot of spasticity, they are like a block because they have not yet been able to differentiate the different parts of their body to be able to use them, and thus have little capacity for voluntary movement)
- connect the different parts of the body and create an understanding of how they function and move together, creating the library of experiences that the child has not been able to create naturally for him/herself, through exploration and many small movements in the early months of life
The results targeted by the method are :
An improvement in motor function (especially for children with cerebral palsy)
Emotional serenity and maturity (especially for children with ASD)
Language / communication development (especially for non-verbal children, Down's syndrome)
Strengthening of learning capacities (especially for children with dys-type disorders)

Specificities of the method

Some specificities of the Feldenkrais approach:
Avoid gravity (usually working in a long position) in order to create greater possibilities to feel and initiate the movement.
Use what the person already knows and create a lot of variation around it to make it even easier and create a stronger basis for reaching new possibilities.
Start with the unaffected side of the body, make the movement clear on that side and use it to teach the other side. 
Working a lot on the body centre, helping the brain to connect all parts of the body: the practitioner uses subtle touch to help the person feel the part of the body that is not yet clear to him/her and to teach him/her how he/she could integrate it more into the movement.
"You learn to walk by lying down": through subtle touch, body sensation and variation rather than effort and repetition...
The method is global: pain in the wrist can be resolved by working on the pelvis ...
May seem passive from the outside, but the person is very active in what he or she feels and participates in the creation of this self-awareness.
The Feldenkrais Method can be practiced :
In a group: Awareness through Movement (PCM)
Individual: Functional Integration (FI): which is generally the preferred modality for atypical children.

In an individual session (Functional Integration), the subject sits on a table (massage table type), the practitioner guides him through his touch.

This subtle touch allows him to become more fully aware of his body and to perform a large number of variations of movements so that the brain identifies and selects the most effective, the one that requires the least effort (as babies do when they learn to sit, to stand up, to walk...). 

This method is generally practiced in an intensive form, 6 to 10 sessions over a week, which allows the installation of new capacities.

Who is this method for ?

For children with motor disorders
Children with motor disorders have experienced far fewer random and then voluntary movements as babies, those that allow the brain to map their bodies and create a complete perception of self and differentiation of all parts of their bodies.
This approach allows them to better appropriate their bodies, to better differentiate the different parts of their bodies, to be less "blocky", to reduce spasticity and to have more dexterity of movement, to perform movements with less effort and to progress in their motor acquisition.

For children with Autistic Disorders or Dys or ADHD or Down Syndrome
There is often a lack of proprioception, less body at ease...
This method helps them to have a complete perception of their body image, a better understanding of their body, to feel better, and thus to have a better relationship with others, to better regulate their emotions, to decrease their anxiety...

What parents say about it

"By the end of the week, the posture was much more symmetrical, shoulders at the same level, 
allowing much more use of the left arm and hand."
"The ideal would be to do a Feldenkrais internship every school holiday at his school, because every intensive week he makes a lot of progress."

Scientific references

Few studies have been done on the effectiveness of these methods (Feldenkrais and Anat Baniel Method Neuromovement).

The Effectiveness of the Feldenkrais Method: A Systematic Review of the Evidence Susan Hillier, Anthea Worley, International Centre for Allied Health Evidence, March 2015
Meta-analyses could be performed with 7 studies, concluding in favour of the Feldenkrais Method to improve balance in aging populations (e.g., timed test and go MD -1.14 sec, 95% CI -1.78, -0.49; and functional range test MD 6.08 cm, 95% CI 3.41, 8.74). Single studies have reported significant positive effects on reducing perceived exertion and increasing comfort, perceived body image and dexterity. The risk of bias was high, tempering some results. Taken as a body of evidence, the effects appear to be generic, supporting the proposition that the Feldenkrais Method works on a learning paradigm rather than disease-based mechanisms. Further research is needed; however, in the meantime, clinicians and professionals can promote the use of the Feldenkrais Method in populations interested in effective physical performance and self-efficacy.

The Feldenkrais Method® in rehabilitation: a review, Jeffrey C. Ives, Gene A. Shelley, 1998
The increasing use of the Feldenkrais® Method by laypersons and professionals has been fuelled by extravagant claims and data published in non-peer-reviewed sources, as the effectiveness of this technique has been poorly documented in peer-reviewed publications. Therefore, the purpose of this review was to critically appraise the literature on the Feldenkrais® method in both juried and non-juried sources. Results generally indicated some improvement with Feldenkrais® interventions, however, these improvements are not as great as anecdotal claims suggest. Unfortunately, most of the findings and conclusions with or without a jury are questionable due to inadequately controlled studies and other methodological problems. As such, determining the effectiveness of the Feldenkrais® Method based on the literature is difficult at best, and the only justifiable conclusion is that further study is warranted.
           
Effects of Feldenkrais exercises on balance, mobility, balance confidence, and gait performance in community-dwelling adults age 65 and older, Gerhild Ullmann, Harriet G. 
These results indicate that Feldenkrais exercises are an effective way to improve balance and mobility, and thus offer an alternative method to help compensate for age-related declines in mobility and reduce the risk of falling among community-dwelling older adults. A long-term follow-up study of balance and mobility is warranted. Further research is needed to determine whether Feldenkrais exercises can have an impact on cognitive processes.

To know more about the topic

Reference books: Moshe Feldenkrais, Body Awareness, 1980

Link to the Feldenkraïs France website: https://www.feldenkrais-france.org/?p=524

Feldenkrais Practitioners Directory: https://www.feldenkrais-france.org/?page_id=212

Any remarks or comments ?

This work is based on a collaborative approach to sharing research and family experience.

If you have any comments, suggestions for modifications or corrections or clarifications to make, please let us know by email at contact@leneurogroupe.org

Méthode Feldenkraïs

Présentation générale

Cette méthode a été mise au point dans les années 50, par Moshe Feldenkraïs, suite à une blessure au genou, il développe la méthode pour se soigner lui-même. Il s’inspire notamment de la façon dont les enfants qui commencent à se mouvoir et découvrent le mouvement.

 

Moshe Feldenkrais peut être considéré comme un génie dans la compréhension du mouvement, du fait de ses connaissances de physicien et de spécialiste des arts martiaux:

  • Après un doctorat en physique à Paris, il a travaillé dans les années 30 au laboratoire Juliot-Curie sur l’énergie nucléaire 

  • Après sa rencontre avec Jigoro Kano, fondateur du judo, il devint l’une des premières ceintures noires de Judo en France et co-fonda le premier Judo club de France

  • Dans les années 50, il revient en Israël et travaille aux côté de Ben Gurion dans l’armée puis se consacre totalement au développement de la “Méthode Feldenkrais”

 

Il a créé une bibliothèque de plus de 1000 leçons (c'est-à-dire des chorégraphies de mouvements) pour former les professionnels de Feldenkrais à la parfaite compréhension d'eux-mêmes, leur permettant d’enseigner aux autres comment améliorer leur facilité de mouvement et comment fonctionner à un niveau supérieur. Il y a aujourd’hui plus de 12 000 praticiens formés dans le monde.

Principaux objectifs de la méthode
  • La méthode Feldenkrais permet aux enfants d'expérimenter ce qui a manqué au cerveau, ce qu’il apprend d’habitude naturellement par tâtonnement

  • Elle permet tout particulièrement de :

    • créer une image de soi claire, une perception claire de l'ensemble de son corps (ceci n’est pas inné, le bébé typique l’apprend durant ces premiers mois de vie, et les enfants ayant des troubles moteurs ou des troubles du neuro-développement manquent souvent d’explorations qui leur permettent de cartographier leur corps)

    • différencier toutes les parties de leur corps (ceci est très difficile à créer naturellement notamment pour les enfants qui ont beaucoup de spasticité, ils sont comme un bloc car ils n’ont pas encore pu différencier les différentes parties de leur corps pour pouvoir les utiliser, et n’ont ainsi que peu de capacité de mouvement volontaire)

    • relier les différentes parties du corps et créer une compréhension de la façon dont elles fonctionnent et bougent ensemble, en créant la bibliothèque d'expériences que l'enfant n'a pas été capable de créer naturellement pour lui-même, par des explorations et un grand nombre de petits mouvement dans les premiers mois de vie

  • Les résultats visés par la méthode sont :

    • Une amélioration fonctionnelle motrice (notamment pour les enfants avec paralysie cérébrale

    • Une sérénité et une maturité émotionnelle (notamment pour les enfants TSA)

    • Un développement du langage / de la communication (notamment pour les enfants non-verbaux, trisomie)

    • Un renforcement des capacités d’apprentissage (notamment pour les enfants ayant des troubles type dys)

Spécificités de la méthode

Quelques spécificités de l'approche Feldenkrais :

  • Eviter la gravité (travail généralement allongé) pour créer de plus grandes possibilités de ressentir et d'initier le mouvement

  • Utiliser ce que la personne sait déjà et créer beaucoup de variations autour de cela pour le rendre encore plus facile et créer une base plus solide pour atteindre de nouvelles possibilités

  • Commencer par le côté non affecté du corps, faire le mouvement clairement de ce côté et l’utiliser pour enseigner à l'autre côté 

  • Travailler beaucoup sur le centre du corps, aider le cerveau à connecter toutes les parties du corps : le praticien utilise le toucher subtil pour aider la personne à sentir la partie de son corps qui n'est pas encore claire pour elle et lui enseigner comment il pourrait l'intégrer davantage dans le mouvement

  • “C’est allongé qu’on apprend à marcher” : par un toucher subtile, un ressenti corporel et par des variations plutôt que des efforts et de la répétition

  • La méthode est globale : une douleur au poignet peut être résorbée par un travail au niveau du bassin...

  • Peut sembler passif de l'extérieur, mais la personne est très active dans ce qu'elle ressent et participe à la création de cette conscience de soi.

 

La méthode Feldenkraïs peut se pratiquer :

  • En groupe : Prise de Conscience par le Mouvement (PCM)

  • En individuel : Intégration fonctionnelle (IF) : ce qui est généralement la modalité privilégié pour les enfants atypiques

 

En séance individuelle (Intégration Fonctionnelle), le sujet s'installe sur une table (type table de massage), le praticien le guide par l’intermédiaire de son toucher.

 

Ce toucher subtile lui permet de prendre conscience de son corps de façon plus complète et de réaliser un grand nombre de variation de mouvements pour que le cerveau identifie et sélectionne le plus efficace, celui qui demande le moins d’effort (comme le font les bébés quand ils apprennent à s’asseoir, à se lever, à marcher…). 

 

Cette méthode se pratique généralement sous forme intensive, 6 à 10 séances sur une semaine, qui permettent d'installer de nouvelles capacités

A qui s’adresse la méthode ?

Pour les enfants ayant des troubles moteurs

  • Les enfants ayant des troubles moteurs ont expérimenté beaucoup moins de mouvements aléatoires puis de mouvements volontaires étant bébé, ceux qui permettent au cerveau de cartographier leur corps et de créer une perception complète de soi et une différenciation de toutes les parties de leur corps

  • Cette approche leur permet de mieux s'approprier leur corps, de mieux différencier les différentes parties de leurs corps, pour être moins "bloc", réduire la spasticité et avoir plus de dextérité de mouvement, réaliser les mouvements avec moins d'effort et progresser dans leurs acquisitions motrices.

 

Pour les enfants ayant des troubles de type autistique ou Dys ou TDAH ou trisomie

  • On constate souvent un manque de proprioception, une moindre aisance corporelle

  • Cette méthode les aide à avoir perception complète de leur image corporelle, une meilleure compréhension de leur corps, à mieux se sentir, et ainsi à avoir une meilleure relation à l'autre, à mieux réguler leurs émotions, à diminuer leur anxiété…

Ce qu’en disent les parents

"A la fin de la semaine, la posture était beaucoup plus symétrique, les épaules au même niveau, 

permettant d'utiliser beaucoup plus le bras et la main gauche"

“L’idéal serait de faire un stage Feldenkrais à chaque vacances scolaires, dans l'enceinte de son établissement, car à chaque semaine intensive il réalise beaucoup de progrès”

Références scientifiques

Peu d’études réalisées sur l’efficacité de ces méthodes (Feldenkrais et Anat Baniel Method Neuromovement)

 

The Effectiveness of the Feldenkrais Method: A Systematic Review of the Evidence Susan Hillier, Anthea Worley, International Centre for Allied Health Evidence, March 2015

Des méta-analyses ont pu être réalisées avec 7 études, concluant en faveur de la Méthode Feldenkrais pour améliorer l'équilibre dans les populations vieillissantes (par exemple, test chronométré et aller MD −1.14 sec, IC 95% −1.78, −0.49; et test de portée fonctionnelle MD 6,08 cm, IC 95% 3,41, 8,74). Des études uniques ont signalé des effets positifs significatifs pour la réduction de l'effort perçu et l'augmentation du confort, de la perception de l'image corporelle et de la dextérité. Le risque de biais était élevé, tempérant ainsi certains résultats. Considérés comme un ensemble de preuves, les effets semblent être génériques, soutenant la proposition selon laquelle la Méthode Feldenkrais travaille sur un paradigme d'apprentissage plutôt que sur des mécanismes basés sur la maladie. Des recherches supplémentaires sont nécessaires; cependant, dans l'intervalle, les cliniciens et les professionnels peuvent promouvoir l'utilisation de la Méthode Feldenkrais dans les populations intéressées par une performance physique efficace et l'auto-efficacité.

 

The Feldenkrais Method® in rehabilitation: a review, Jeffrey C. Ives, Gene A. Shelley, 1998

L'utilisation croissante de la méthode Feldenkrais® par les profanes et les professionnels a été alimentée par des allégations extravagantes et des données publiées dans des sources non évaluées par des pairs, car l'efficacité de cette technique a été mal documentée dans des publications évaluées par des pairs. Par conséquent, le but de cette revue était d'évaluer de manière critique la littérature sur la méthode Feldenkrais® dans des sources avec et sans jury. Les résultats ont généralement indiqué une certaine amélioration avec les interventions Feldenkrais®, cependant, ces améliorations ne sont pas aussi importantes que le suggèrent les allégations anecdotiques. Malheureusement, la plupart des constatations et des conclusions avec ou sans jury sont discutables en raison d'études insuffisamment contrôlées et d'autres problèmes méthodologiques. En tant que tel, la détermination de l'efficacité de la méthode Feldenkrais® sur la base de la littérature est au mieux difficile, et la seule conclusion justifiable est qu'une étude plus approfondie est justifiée

           

Effects of Feldenkrais exercises on balance, mobility, balance confidence, and gait performance in community-dwelling adults age 65 and older, Gerhild Ullmann, Harriet G. 

Ces résultats indiquent que les exercices Feldenkrais sont un moyen efficace d'améliorer l'équilibre et la mobilité, et offrent ainsi une méthode alternative pour aider à compenser les baisses de mobilité liées à l'âge et à réduire le risque de chute chez les personnes âgées vivant dans la communauté. Une étude de suivi à long terme de l'équilibre et de la mobilité est justifiée. Des recherches supplémentaires sont nécessaires pour déterminer si les exercices Feldenkrais peuvent avoir un impact sur les processus cognitifs.

En savoir plus

Livres de référence : Moshe Feldenkrais, La conscience du corps, 1980

 

Lien vers le site de Feldenkraïs France : https://www.feldenkrais-france.org/?p=524


Annuaire des praticiens Feldenkraïs : https://www.feldenkrais-france.org/?page_id=212

Des remarques ou commentaires ?

Ce travail repose sur une approche collaborative de mise en commun de recherches et de l'expérience des familles.

Si vous avez des remarques, des suggestions de modifications ou corrections ou des précisions à apporter merci de nous en faire part par email à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Contactez-nous

Le Neuro Groupe

6 bd du Général Leclerc

92110 Clichy

Ecole Walt

2 rue Dranem

75011 Paris

Pour être tenu au courant par email