MAPPING OF BRAIN ACTIVITY BY QUANTITATIVE EEG

General overview

Quantitative EEG, or quantitative electroencephalography, is the measurement of an individual's brain activity in quantitative (numerical) terms and its representation in the form of a brain map. 

Source: compilation of  YouTube videos ( fair use ) - if you want to remove content contact us at contact@leneurogroupe.org

Main objectives of the method

The objective of the quantitative EEG is to compare the patient's activity to that of a normative basis. If the brain functions at too high or too low a frequency in relation to its activity, it cannot perform this task properly.
Thanks to the quantitative EEG, it then becomes easy to detect activity abnormalities in certain parts of the brain, in order to better understand the origin of the child's disorders, and possibly to propose an action plan to improve brain activity (for example with "neurofeedback"). 
One can also evaluate the results (of a neurofeedback treatment or other protocol set up) by performing a new quantitative EEG and thus measure the evolutions allowed by the treatment.

Example of a brain map by qEEG:

Y3.jpg
Y1.png
Y2.png
Specificities of the method

Brain activity is measured using electrodes placed on a lycra cap that looks like a bathing cap. Obviously, there is no pain to fear, the cap only collects the brain activity while the patient is put in certain specific situations. The test usually lasts about 20 minutes, but it can also be carried out over longer periods of time, up to 24 hours. Brain mapping can then be obtained. Sometimes several EEGs are required to detect abnormalities.

This method is generally used as a prerequisite for neurofeedback treatment to correct atypical brain activity or simply as a diagnostic tool to better understand the origin of the clinical disorders encountered.

Who is this method for ?

The method is particularly indicated for children suffering from epilepsy, ADHD, neurodevelopmental disorders, depression, or specific learning problems.

There are no contraindications to an EEG, but for some epileptic patients, the examination will be modulated if an epileptic seizure begins. It can also be stressful, which is why the child should be reassured.

Scientific references

Contribution of the EEG in the diagnosis and follow-up of epilepsy in children
https://www.jle.com/fr/revues/mtp/e-docs/apport_de_leeg_dans_le_diagnostic_et_le_suivi_des_epilepsies_de_lenfant_272740/article.phtml
"In the field of epilepsy, provided it is always interpreted in conjunction with all the clinical data, the EEG contributes to the positive, differential, syndromic and sometimes etiological diagnosis. Despite the development of neurological imaging techniques, the EEG remains the first and most useful examination for the management of patients with epilepsy. Technological advances and computerisation have strengthened this tool over the last ten years. »

Indications for electroencephalography in the neonatal period: Recommendations of the clinical neurophysiology group for children.
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0929693X04001174
"The electroencephalogram (EEG) is an easy, reproducible, atraumatic means of brain exploration and has a relevant and early diagnostic and predictive interest in the newborn. In the newborn at term, if there are abnormal clinical signs, the EEG aspect may evoke a particular etiology. The organization of background activity and sleep, and the characteristics of the seizures are of prognostic interest. Prolonged recording coupled with video allows the identification of seizures, convulsive or not, and to differentiate them from paroxysmal non epileptic manifestations. »


EEG Power Spectrum Analysis in Children with ADHD
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4973024/
"Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) is a pathological disorder that is not fully understood. In this study, we investigated differences in electroencephalographic (EEG) power between children with ADHD and healthy control children. »
"The powers of the different EEG bands were significantly higher in the frontal region of the brain of those in the ADHD group than in the control group. In addition, the beta-band power in the ADHD group was significantly higher in all brain regions except the occipital region compared to the control children. In terms of developmental changes, the occipital alpha-band power decreased with age in both groups, with a slightly lower power in the ADHD group. »

EEG for Diagnosis of Autism Spectrum Disorder
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6224325/
"Non-linear analysis of EEG signals can extract significantly different information in children who develop ASD, as early as 3 months of age. »
"This suggests that measuring GED using the method presented here is a promising technology for monitoring neural development in a large population of children. Future research with larger and more diverse populations is needed to determine the clinical applicability of this approach to the detection of ASDs in general populations. »

To know more about the topic

Links to the official website or well-made news websites:
https://www.cairn.info/revue-contraste-2013-2-page-21.htm# (itinerary of an epileptic child, parental testimony)
https://www.rvd-psychologue.com/mapping-brain-electro-encephalogramme-quantitatif.html (description of the quantitative EEG system)
https://neuromtl.com/fr/nos-technologies/electroencephalogramme-quantitatif-qeeg/
http://www.brainavatar.com/home.html
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dAIQeTeMJ-I

Link to informative articles + reference books :
http://sante.lefigaro.fr/sante/examen/electroencephalogramme/comment-se-deroule-t-il

Link to FB parent groups :
https://www.facebook.com/groups/632115740265013/?ref=br_rs (parents of children with epilepsy)

Link to professional directories :
https://www.doctolib.fr/electroencephalographie-eeg

Any remarks or comments ?

This work is based on a collaborative approach to sharing research and family experience.

If you have any comments, suggestions for modifications or corrections or clarifications to make, please let us know by email at contact@leneurogroupe.org

CARTOGRAPHIE DE L’ACTIVITÉ CÉRÉBRALE PAR EEG QUANTITATIF

Présentation générale

L’EEG quantitatif, ou électroencéphalographie quantitative, correspond à la mesure de l’activité du cerveau d’un individu en termes quantitatifs (chiffrés) et à leur représentation sous forme de carte cérébrale.

Source : compilation de vidéos YouTube (utilisation équitable) - si vous souhaitez supprimer un contenu contactez nous à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Principaux objectifs de la méthode

L’objectif de l’EEG quantitatif est de comparer l’activité du patient à celle d’une base normative. Si le cerveau fonctionne à une fréquence trop élevée ou trop basse par rapport à celle qui correspond à son activité, il ne peut pas effectuer correctement cette tâche.

Grâce à l’EEG quantitatif, il devient alors facile de détecter des anomalies d’activité dans certaines parties du cerveau, afin de mieux comprendre l’origine des troubles de l’enfant, et éventuellement proposer un plan d’action pour améliorer l’activité cérébrale (par exemple avec le « neurofeedback »). 

On peut aussi évaluer les résultats (d’un traitement en neurofeedback ou autre protocole mis en place) en réalisant un nouvel EEG quantitatif et mesurer ainsi les évolutions permises par le traitement.


Exemple de brain map par qEEG:

Spécificités de la méthode

L’activité cérébrale est mesurée grâce à des électrodes placées sur un bonnet de lycra ressemblant à un bonnet de bain. Evidemment, il n’y a aucun douleur à craindre, le bonnet ne faisant que recueillir l’activité cérébrale alors que le patient est mis dans certaines situations spécifiques. Le test dure en général une vingtaine de minutes, mais il peut aussi être réaliser sur des durées plus longues, jusqu’à 24 heures. On peut ensuite obtenir une cartographie cérébrale. Parfois, plusieurs EEG sont nécessaires pour détecter des anomalies.

 

Cette méthode est en général utilisée comme préalable à un traitement en Neurofeedback pour corriger l’activité cérébrale atypique ou simplement comme outil de diagnostic, afin de mieux comprendre l’origine des troubles cliniques rencontrés.

A qui s’adresse la méthode ?

La méthode est particulièrement indiquée pour les enfants souffrant d’épilepsie, TDAH, troubles du neuro-développement, dépression, ou problèmes d’apprentissages spécifiques.

 

Il n’y a pas de contre-indications à un EEG, mais pour certains patients épileptiques, l’examen sera modulé en cas de début de crise d’épilepsie. Il peut aussi être stressant, c’est pourquoi il convient de rassurer l’enfant.

Ce qu’en disent les parents
Références scientifiques

Apport de l’EEG dans le diagnostic et le suivi des épilepsies de l’enfant

https://www.jle.com/fr/revues/mtp/e-docs/apport_de_leeg_dans_le_diagnostic_et_le_suivi_des_epilepsies_de_lenfant_272740/article.phtml

« Dans le domaine de l’épilepsie, à condition d’être toujours interprété avec l’ensemble des données cliniques, l’EEG contribue au diagnostic positif, différentiel, syndromique et quelques fois permet le diagnostic étiologique. Malgré le développement des techniques d’imagerie neurologique, l’EEG reste le premier examen et le plus utile pour la prise en charge des patients avec épilepsie. Les avancées technologiques et l’informatisation ont renforcé cet outil depuis dix ans. »

 

Indications de l'électroencéphalogramme en période néonatale: Recommandations du groupe de neurophysiologie clinique de l'enfant

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0929693X04001174

« Moyen d'exploration cérébrale facile, reproductible, atraumatique, l'électroencéphalogramme (EEG) a un intérêt diagnostique et prédictif pertinent et précoce chez le nouveau-né. Chez le nouveau-né à terme, s'il existe des signes cliniques anormaux, l'aspect EEG peut évoquer une étiologie particulière. L'organisation de l'activité de fond et du sommeil, les caractéristiques des crises ont un intérêt pronostique. L'enregistrement prolongé couplé à la vidéo permet d'identifier des crises, convulsives ou non, et de les différencier de manifestations paroxystiques non épileptiques. »


 

EEG Power Spectrum Analysis in Children with ADHD

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4973024/

« Le trouble déficitaire de l'attention avec hyperactivité (TDAH) est un trouble pathologique qui n'est pas entièrement compris. Dans cette étude, nous avons étudié les différences de puissance électroencéphalographique (EEG) entre les enfants atteints de TDAH et les enfants témoins sains. »

« Les pouvoirs des différentes bandes d'EEG étaient significativement plus élevés dans la région frontale du cerveau de ceux du groupe TDAH que dans le groupe témoin. De plus, la puissance de la bande bêta dans le groupe TDAH était significativement plus élevée dans toutes les régions du cerveau, sauf dans la région occipitale, comparativement aux enfants témoins. En ce qui concerne les changements développementaux, la puissance de la bande alpha dans la région occipitale a diminué en fonction de l'âge dans les deux groupes, avec une puissance légèrement inférieure dans le groupe TDAH. »

 

EEG for Diagnosis of Autism Spectrum Disorder

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6224325/

« L'analyse non linéaire des signaux EEG permet d'extraire des informations significativement différentes chez les enfants qui développent un TSA, dès l'âge de 3 mois. »

« Cela suggère que la mesure de l'EEG à l'aide de la méthode présentée ici est une technologie prometteuse pour surveiller le développement neural chez une vaste population d'enfants. Des recherches futures auprès de populations plus vastes et plus diversifiées sont nécessaires pour déterminer l'applicabilité clinique de cette approche à la détection des TSA dans les populations générales. »

En savoir plus

Liens vers le site officiel ou des sites d’infos bien fait :

https://www.cairn.info/revue-contraste-2013-2-page-21.htm# (itinéraire d’un enfant épileptique, témoignage parental)

https://www.rvd-psychologue.com/mapping-brain-electro-encephalogramme-quantitatif.html (description du système quantitatif d’EEG)

https://neuromtl.com/fr/nos-technologies/electroencephalogramme-quantitatif-qeeg/

http://www.brainavatar.com/home.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dAIQeTeMJ-I

 

Lien vers des articles d’information + livres de référence :

http://sante.lefigaro.fr/sante/examen/electroencephalogramme/comment-se-deroule-t-il

 

Lien vers des groupes FB parents :

https://www.facebook.com/groups/632115740265013/?ref=br_rs (parents d’enfants atteints d’épilepsie)

 

Lien vers annuaires professionnels :

https://www.doctolib.fr/electroencephalographie-eeg

Des remarques ou commentaires ?

Ce travail repose sur une approche collaborative de mise en commun de recherches et de l'expérience des familles.

Si vous avez des remarques, des suggestions de modifications ou corrections ou des précisions à apporter merci de nous en faire part par email à contact@leneurogroupe.org

Contactez-nous

Le Neuro Groupe

6 bd du Général Leclerc

92110 Clichy

Pour être tenu au courant par email